+1 843-884-1500

OPEN WATER DIVER The world's most popular scuba diving course

The Open Water Diver course with Carolina Dive Locker

If you've always wanted to learn how to scuba dive, discover new adventures or simply see the wonderous world beneath the waves, this is where it starts. The Open Water Diver course is the world's most popular scuba course, and has introduced millions of people to the adventurous diving lifestyle.


What You Learn

The Open Water Diver course consists of three main phases:

  • Knowledge Development (online, home study or in a classroom) to understand basic principles of scuba diving
  • Confined Water Dives to learn basic scuba skills in the pool
  • Open Water Dives to review your skills and explore!

If you've participated in a Discover Scuba Diving experience or resort course, the skills you learned may be credited towards a portion of the full Open Water Diver course certification.

 

Sample Class Itinerary

  • Friday Evening 6-9 pm: Classroom session and introduction to scuba gear.
  • Saturday 8am-4:30pm: Combination of Classroom review and skills practice in the pool.
  • Sunday 8am-4:30pm: Pool scuba skills review and final exam.
  • Complete your Open Water dives the following weekend or whenever is convenient for you!

 

Open Water Dives

To complete the final part of your certification you will do 4 Open Water training dives.  There are a few ways to complete this part of the course (Price varies with below options):

  • Join us at our local freshwater training site
  • Come on an offshore charter with us in the summer
  • Join us on one of our many trips to Florida, the Caribbean, and beyond!

 

Prerequisites

To enroll in the Open Diver course or Junior Open Water Diver course, you must be:

  • 10 years or older 


The Fun Part

The fun part about this course is...well, just about all of it because learning to dive is incredible. You breathe underwater for the first time (something you'll never forget) and learn what you need to know to become a certified diver. During the course, you'll make at least five pool dives and four dives at local dive sites under the supervision of your Instructor.


The Scuba Gear You Use

In the Open Water Diver course, you learn to use basic scuba gear including a dive computer, and standard accessories. The equipment you wear will be chosen by a Carolina Dive Locker Representative to ensure your comfort throughout the course.


The Learning Materials You Need

We offer a variety of home-study materials for the Open Water Diver course - book and DVD package or a multimedia DVD as well as online learning options.

Contact Carolina Dive Locker to personalize the best study option for you!

The Open Water Diver materials cover what you need to know about basic scuba diving skills, terminology and safety procedures. For each concept you'll read a description and watch a video demonstration. Then you'll jump in the pool (or pool-like environment) to practice these skills with your instructor.

We offer the Open Water Diver course through both PADI and SSI (Scuba Schools International).  Both are fantastic options for your certification and we have instructors who can teach through both agencies.

Give us a call, or stop by to get your crew pack and get started.  Check out our Course Schedule to learn about our next Open Water Diver course.

*Please note: Price below includes life support rental gear (BCD, regulator, wetsuit, tank & weights), academic materials and training with an instructor.  Personal gear (mask, fins, snorkel, booties & gear bag), and open water site fees not included.  Must have a cutting tool and timing device for certiciation dives (not included in course price).

  Start Date Course Type End Date Places Available   Price    
05 Nov 2021 SSI Open Water 07 Nov 2021 0 US$ 565.00

Academics
Fri 05 Nov 2021
06:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
Pool and Academics Day 2
Sat 06 Nov 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
Pool and Academics Day1
Sun 07 Nov 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
Instructor(s): Sander Van Es,

Request More Info

19 Nov 2021 Open Water Diver 21 Nov 2021 2 US$ 565.00

Classroom Day 1
Fri 19 Nov 2021
06:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 2
Sat 20 Nov 2021
08:00 AM
10 hours 00 minutes
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 3
Sun 21 Nov 2021
08:00 AM
10 hours 00 minutes
Carolina Dive Locker
Instructor(s): Morgan Chichester,

Request More Info

10 Dec 2021 SSI Open Water 12 Dec 2021 6 US$ 565.00

Academics
Fri 10 Dec 2021
06:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
Pool and Academics Day 2
Sat 11 Dec 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
Pool and Academics Day1
Sun 12 Dec 2021
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
Instructor(s): Ben Webster,

Request More Info

21 Jan 2022 Open Water Diver 23 Jan 2022 5 US$ 565.00

Classroom Day 1
Fri 21 Jan 2022 to Fri 14 Jan 2022
06:00 PM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 2
Sat 22 Jan 2022 to Sat 15 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 3
Sun 23 Jan 2022 to Sun 16 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Open Water Day 1
Sat 29 Jan 2022 to Sat 22 Jan 2022
08:30 AM
Lake Hollywood
Open Water Day 2
Sun 30 Jan 2022 to Sun 23 Jan 2022
07:00 AM
Offshore Charleston (TBD)

Request More Info

11 Feb 2022 Open Water Diver 13 Feb 2022 8 US$ 565.00

Classroom Day 1
Fri 11 Feb 2022 to Fri 04 Feb 2022
06:00 PM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 2
Sat 12 Feb 2022 to Sat 05 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 3
Sun 13 Feb 2022 to Sun 06 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Open Water Day 1
Sat 19 Feb 2022 to Sat 12 Feb 2022
08:30 AM
Lake Hollywood
Open Water Day 2
Sun 20 Feb 2022 to Sun 13 Feb 2022
07:00 AM
Offshore Charleston (TBD)

Request More Info

04 Mar 2022 Open Water Diver 06 Mar 2022 8 US$ 565.00

Classroom Day 1
Fri 04 Mar 2022 to Fri 25 Feb 2022
06:00 PM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 2
Sat 05 Mar 2022 to Sat 26 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 3
Sun 06 Mar 2022 to Sun 27 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Open Water Day 1
Sat 12 Mar 2022 to Sat 05 Mar 2022
08:30 AM
Lake Hollywood
Open Water Day 2
Sun 13 Mar 2022 to Sun 06 Mar 2022
07:00 AM
Offshore Charleston (TBD)

Request More Info

25 Mar 2022 Open Water Diver 27 Mar 2022 8 US$ 565.00

Classroom Day 1
Fri 25 Mar 2022 to Fri 18 Mar 2022
06:00 PM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 2
Sat 26 Mar 2022 to Sat 19 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Classroom & Pool Day 3
Sun 27 Mar 2022 to Sun 20 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
Carolina Dive Locker
Open Water Day 1
Sat 02 Apr 2022 to Sat 26 Mar 2022
08:30 AM
Lake Hollywood
Open Water Day 2
Sun 03 Apr 2022 to Sun 27 Mar 2022
07:00 AM
Offshore Charleston (TBD)

Request More Info